Protein shakes and bars

Hi I’m relatively new to actively trying to eat properly, I’ve always had a healthy-ish diet but now I’m really focusing on protein intake to gain weight and muscle. I’ve been having one protein bar a day along with naturally high in protein foods the most I’ve gotten to is 50g of protein so I was wondering if it’s okay to have a protein shake and a protein bar in the same day? Obviously these aren’t replacing my meals they’re just adding to my protein intake.

Replies

• Chieflrg
    Chieflrg Posts: 9,097 Member
    Yep. Just fine.
  • Diatonic12
    Diatonic12 Posts: 32,344 Member
    Agreed. I like both in a day's time. It makes everything fun. :)
  • quiksylver296
    quiksylver296 Posts: 28,443 Member
    edited August 2020
    Protein is protein, no matter the source.

I am perplexed that you are only getting to about 50 grams per day with a protein bar included. Center your meals on the protein. My breakfast is nearly always plain greek yogurt, mixed with protein powder and berries. That usually gets me about 40 g of protein, just at breakfast. If I had oatmeal or waffles, I'd never hit my protein goal.
  • jessef593
    jessef593 Posts: 2,272 Member
    Yep.

I have 4 scoops of whey a day with the addition of a protein bar on harder work days. That's ontop of my animal and grain sourced protein.

I also agree with @quiksylver296 . With the addition of a protein bar. Which are generally in the 20g range. I have no idea how you're only getting 50g a day. What is your total calorie intake? Because I'm worried it might be extremely low with that amount of protein.

I personally get over 100g a day before touching any whey. Just from eating meats, grains, and produce

• NovusDies
    NovusDies Posts: 8,940 Member
    edited August 2020