Beginners Weight Training Program for Women

Hi I am a beginner and wanted some advice on weight training to lose fat for women programs. Who should I follow or can write a 6 to 10 weeks program for me. I am new to weight training. Thanks in advance for your recommendations
Β«1

Replies

• claireychn074
    claireychn074 Posts: 1,321 Member
    Hi, its great that you want to take up weight training! It’s good fun and important for bones and muscles (particularly as we get older). It won’t, however, make you lose fat. You need to be in a calorie deficit for that. You also don’t need a women’s only programme. Have a look online at stronglifts, or see if your local gym will offer you a free taster session to see if you like it before you commit πŸ‘
  • sardelsa
    sardelsa Posts: 9,812 Member
    You can check out this thread for programs

https://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10332083/which-lifting-program-is-the-best-for-you/p1

You don't have to run one for women, but there are some with more focus on the glutes/lower body such as Strong Curves, Stephanie Buttermore women's program and Thinner Leaner Stronger
  • Dogmom1978
    Dogmom1978 Posts: 1,580 Member
    Why one specifically for women? What do you expect to be different for women than men?

There are about a million and one options to choose from, but without more info no one can give you a plan that would work.

Also, as someone already said, if you are lifting weight to burn fat, that isn’t a thing. You also can’t spot reduce. You will lose weight starting wherever your body decides (chest and butt for me to start, happy about losing wait in my butt, sad about the chest lol).

That said, eating in a calorie deficit is what will cause you to lose weight and lifting weights is a fantastic idea for a variety of different health reasons. We just need more info on what you are looking to gain from it to offer more useful suggestions.

For example: