Feel defeated and demoralized about my diet

2»

Replies

• kshama2001
    kshama2001 Posts: 27,886 Member
    joowelz wrote: »
    Hello

I have been on MFP for years with success on and off at losing weight. My desire is to lose 15 lbs or 4 inches overall.

I know that it’s 80% diet and 20% exercise. This has been true for me. I am not a novice at weight loss as i’ve been battling my weight since adolescence.

I am 43 now, 170 lbs, 5’6, and having a really hard time controlling my calorie intake.

I’m demoralized over the idea that something as wonderful as food is actually hurting me like an enemy. :(

It seems unfair that a few calories over - in the form of an extra spoon of rice or a handful of almonds - will sabotage my goals. That day then seems “wasted.”

Please review my diary and give me encouragement. Being fat is a source of shame for me. I have even been dreaming about how fat i am. This is probably because of how demoralized i feel. I dont want 100-150 calories - the size if an apple!!! - to stand in my way of losing this unwanted bulk.

Are you going 100-150 calories over, then saying F-it, and going 500-1000 calories over?

Are you exercising, and eating back some portion of your exercise calories?

If, for example, you are exercising, not eating back any of the calories you earned from exercise, hungry, eat 100 extra calories, and saying F-it and eating 1000 calories over, it would behoove you to eat your exercise calories which could quite likely prevent the F-it eating.

If you're not exercising, start. Those exercise calories make all the difference for some people.
  • kshama2001
    I only looked at a handful of days, but how accurate has your tracking been vs what you've logged this month? At the start of October you didn't log any dinners for a few days. Then there were no entries at all.