I've decided to just body recomp and stop bulking because I'm 50 and tired

When I was younger, bulking up and then losing the fat was a great strategy - even at age 46, it was do-able. Now that I'm turning 50 I find it so hard to take that weight off without losing the gains.

I'm just happy with eating at maintenance (1900 cals a day) and just stick to re-comping. The progress is slower and the gains are not as spectacular, but I'm tired and becoming injury prone. I also just don't have the energy to diet anymore. I hate eating at a deficit and hate feeling hungry.

Any other older lifters that can relate? Or are you still bulking and cutting successfully?

Replies

• GaryRuns
    GaryRuns Posts: 508 Member
    I'm 55 and I like the challenge of cutting and bulking, but I'm still fairly new to resistance training. Going on year 3 now. This is really only my second bulk and the first one was pretty dirty so it took me a long time to cut the fat off and get down to 10% bf. This is my first "clean" bulk. About 1.5 months into it. No serious injuries so far. Dealing with a shoulder impingement but I think I have that under control.
  • SnifterPug
    SnifterPug Posts: 746 Member
    I'm 52. Only got into lifting properly at the start of 2020. I'm not interested in bulking and cutting and am re-comping.
  • cupcakesandproteinshakes
    cupcakesandproteinshakes Posts: 1,091 Member
    I’m about to turn 48. Started lifting 4 years agoand have been recomping throughout. Well I lost about 10 pounds in the first year so I guess that’s a v slow cut then a recomp.
    I have been considering bulking having tried to lose a few more pounds during lockdown.
    I can relate to diet fatigue. I don’t do well at all in a deficit. My hunger is very high and I get food obsessed.
    I think maintaining ur weight and continuing to train is a fine enough strategy. Preserving muscle mass is key as we get older.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,879 Member