New and A Little Scared

Hey everyone. I'm Jeanie and my health journey has been...awkward.

A little background info. I have never had the greatest relationship with food. I grew up poor, so we ate when we could. I was diagnosed with some mental health issues in the 90s and the medication they put me on took away my appetite entirely. I weighed 98 lbs when I graduated. When I came off my meds in my 20s, I put on a little weight, healthy weight.
For a decade I really loved my body. I wasn't tired. I wasn't anemic. I was happy.

Five years ago my husband got diagnosed with cancer. It was a struggle. We survived, but it wasn't easy. Then he got injured at work. Everything in the house decided to break at the same time. A car accident. Two cases of stolen identity. The loss of my favorite family member. We were told that kids just weren't in the equation for us. I got let go from my job because of COVID and lots of other stresses. What I'm saying is that I ate my problems. In the last five years I've gone from a healthy weight to a not so healthy weight. I am around 5'2" tall and weigh around 190 lbs, though that can fluctuate a bit. The doctor has told me that this weight gain has put stress on my heart and my cholesterol levels are crap.

Did I mention I'm agoraphobic? Yup. That has not helped with my activity levels. And on top of that I'm on more medications that make it hard to feel hungry and to lose weight.

But I'm here. I'm going to try.

Replies

• lynn_glenmont
    lynn_glenmont Posts: 9,959 Member
    I'm so sorry you've had to face so much. Best of luck on losing the weight.
  • booboo1000
    booboo1000 Posts: 58 Member