New to macros- eating way more fat than I realized

I'm new to the food diary and the concept of macros. And I am blown away that everyday so far (5 days) I'm averaging between 41-55% fat. Should I be concerned or change this up? Will this put me into ketosis?

Replies

• Lietchi
    Lietchi Posts: 6,033 Member
    Ketosis is more dependent on a low carb intake than a high fat intake, I believe.
    As for being concerned, I would personally look into a few things:
    - how much saturated fat are you consuming? That's is the kind of fat you don't want to go too high in, for health reasons (higher risk of cardiovascular disease)
    - how much protein are you consuming? Protein is important to maintain (or build) muscle mass, for example when losing weight. Your ideal intake will depend on a number of factors (your personal stats, your goals,...): the standard 20% that MFP gives is a good starting point, but possibly a bit low if your calorie goal is low too (protein intake is better looked at in absolute amount than in percentage).

Aside from that, how you divide your macros is mostly a personal choice based on how satiated you feel. Some people find it easier to stick to their calorie goal with a high fat protein intake, for example. Others find fat satiating. It's very individual.
  • TX_375
    TX_375 Posts: 15 Member
    erosewelsh wrote: »
    I'm new to the food diary and the concept of macros. And I am blown away that everyday so far (5 days) I'm averaging between 41-55% fat. Should I be concerned or change this up? Will this put me into ketosis?

No need to worry... those numbers are fine in the context of a balanced diet. Ketosis has more to do with your body burning fat as an energy source in the absence of glucose, not the presence of fat. You're good. :smile:
  • cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 33,905 Member
    edited January 2022