Hi! Working nights and I need help!

Options
Hello everyone! I am new to this app and am trying to figure things out.

I have gained about 25 pounds or so since I began working overnights. Is there a better way to track food and things with working overnights? Better ways to eat? I will take any and all help or suggestions at this point!

Also, my body is so confused because I try to stay awake when I’m off to spend time with my family. So I’m just all a mess!! I’m a big girl already so this odd just making it all worse!!

I have to lose weight before
my daughter gets married and this has finally found my motivation!

Replies

• cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,876 Member
    Options
    I'm a little confused...I would just track what I ate for each 24 hour period. When I worked nights I still ate three meals per day, the timing was just different from a traditional schedule. I also ate the same things working overnights as I do working a traditional schedule.

In a given 24 hour period mine looked pretty much like this:

Meal 1: 2AM (usually a sandwich or other "lunch" type of thing that would be had with a traditional sch)
    Off shift: 6AM
    Meal 2: 7/7:30AM (Usually traditional Breakfast food)
    Sleep: 10:30AM - 6/6:30 PM
    Meal 3: 8-9 PM (Usually traditional dinner food)
    Shift Start: 10PM (healthy snacks on hand)

Yes, working overnight can jack with your system...and I understand trying to stay up to be with family, but you also need to provide yourself a scheduled sleeping time to allow yourself to get into a rhythm. My family time was typically in the evenings just as it is with my traditional schedule with the only difference being with a traditional schedule I get home around 6/6:30 and when I worked nights I was just getting up...and instead of going to bed at 9:30/10PM, I was off to work.