Healthy Rice Suggestions

I love rice. Despite this love, I know it's not the greatest thing to eat. Especially those Lipton Rice & Sauce (now they are Knorr) packets...the mushroom flavor is so yummy.

Anyway, I was thinking it would be a good thing to find a HEALTHY rice to replace those packets with.

Suggestions? Brown rice...would that be better?

Also, any healthy rice recipes?

I'd appreciate the input.

Replies

• Duck_Puddle
    Duck_Puddle Posts: 3,224 Member
    Rice is bad? I eat rice all the time. I imagine the worst thing in those Lipton rice things is about 2 weeks worth of sodium and probably more calories than regular rice. I eat white rice, brown rice, rice pilaf, wild rice and any combination of the above. I'm a horrid cook-so you don't want any recipes from me. But I don't see the problem with rice-as long as you don't have medical carb concerns and as long as it isn't the only thing you eat.
  • victoria4321
    victoria4321 Posts: 1,719 Member
    Why don't you make white rice and put your own stuff in it?
  • Acg67
    Acg67 Posts: 12,142 Member
    I love rice. Despite this love, I know it's not the greatest thing to eat. Especially those Lipton Rice & Sauce (now they are Knorr) packets...the mushroom flavor is so yummy.

Anyway, I was thinking it would be a good thing to find a HEALTHY rice to replace those packets with.

Suggestions? Brown rice...would that be better?

Also, any healthy rice recipes?

I'd appreciate the input.

Douse your rice in soy sauce, wa la you got tasty brown rice :)
  • VeganPanda
    VeganPanda Posts: 582 Member
    Those packets are salt central! Rice is great in moderation alongside veggies, with minimal salt and sauce. I love all rice: Jasmine, basmati, wild, plain white, brown... Just don't go overboard!
  • pg3ibew
    pg3ibew Posts: 1,026 Member
    Try brown rice.