Introductions!

Options
MCunliffe
MCunliffe Posts: 29 Member
Well I am so excited to see how many people are joining our little group. I thought that it might be helpful if we all take a few seconds to introduce ourselves, I'll go first.

Hello My name is Melissa and I am from New Hampshire. I had the RNY (gastric bypass) in Portsmouth on June 20, 2012. I am currently on stage 4 the pureed/blended/ ground protein foods.

I am an avid cook even with my eating restrictions. I think that I will also at some point start a thread for recipes at each stage that people can add to and reference when they are getting sick of the same old same old.

I started this group to get and give support for others who are going through, will be going through, or have gone through this type of surgery. I think that we all need someone to connect with who knows exactly what we are going through. Portsmouth has monthly meeting, but sometimes you need support in between. I know that my husband, family and friends can help me in their own way, but they really don't understand what it's like to actually go through it. That's why I am so grateful for all of you!

Melissa

Replies

• jlynn473
    jlynn473 Posts: 6
    Options
    Hello Everyone!
    My name is Jodie. I'm from Rochester, New York, and had RNY surgery on June 7th, 2012. I think my diet plans are different from your's. I'm on stage 2 (pureed foods), and on the 17th of this month, I will move onto the soft foods. I can't wait until next Tuesday! No more pureed foods! Then by the middle of next month I'll be on my lifestyle plan.

I've been working out 4-5 times per week, doing mainly cardio - usually the elliptical and stationary bike, and sometimes the treadmill. I just had an appointment today and have been released for full physical activities (well, officially starting on the 17th). I'm going to start weight lifting as well next week, to try to tone up while losing weight.