How to train?

Options
jaded082
jaded082 Posts: 107 Member
What is the best way to go about training to enable myself to go farther on my rides? I started riding about 3 months ago. I started at about 10 miles a day. I road about 5x a week for the 8-10 weeks.

Lately I go about 15-18 miles Tue and Thur, weight train with some cardio on Mon, Wed, Fri. Then let my body rest on Sat.
I do a 30-40 mi ride on Sun. It takes me between 3-3 1/2 hours. I ride on the access roads out along the freeway near where we live. Most of it is pretty flat being that I am in North Texas but there are some pretty decent large hills from time to time. The problem is 30-40 miles just doesn't seem far anymore. I want to be doing 50-75 mile rides on Sun. With an occasional sat and sun long ride. I would love to do the ms 150 next year.

So, what can I do to condition myself to go further. As it is right now I think I might could go another 10-15 miles if I took a good 20-30 min rest but how can I go further?

I eat a protein power bar before I head out early in the morning and I bring another for half way through my ride. Or I will eat half a pack of Jelly Belly sports beans half way done. I just feel my legs get wore out by the end of 40 miles. Many times I'm dealing with some serious wind (15-18 mph wind feels pretty serious when your going up a hill). Is this something that will just come with time or is there a certain way to train?

Thanks for any input!!

Replies

• midschool22
    midschool22 Posts: 1,267 Member
    Options
    All the answers shall be found in...The Complete Book of Long Distance Cycling by Edmund R. Burke & Ed Pavelka.