Did my last triathlon of my first season on Sunday...

Options
vtate75
vtate75 Posts: 221 Member
It was a Sprinternational.......1000 meter swim, 21 mile bike, 4 mile run.

I have to say that I wish I had stopped my season after my first International a few weeks ago. I'm still bummed out about this one. I am not sure why...my times were good (for me), but I just don't feel great about it. I've been sick for about three weeks. I went through 10 days of antibiotics, but I'm still not well.....coughing and such all of the time. I think that is what is leading to my negative feelings about the whole event.

The swim started from a treading water start. I've never done that before. I was in heat four. After the heat in front of us went, they moved us all into the deep part of the lake where we treaded for 2 minutes. I really liked that. The water was cold, but it wasn't as cold because we were treading water to warm up. I think it helped me. The swim went fine. I finished in the middle of my age group. I was feeling pretty good coming out.

The bike...oh the bike....it was hard. The course was SUPER hilly, and it was a repeated loop, so after the first time, I knew the second would be hard. What made it worse was the traffic. The traffic was terrible. There were no closed lanes, so we were in a tiny bike lane on a four lane road for about 80% of the time. Other time was spent on small two lane roads, but there was a lot of traffic there as well. I was almost hit by a car who turned out into the bike lane about 2 miles into the event. I almost wrecked with another bike who was swerving to miss a car who almost hit her. I saw a lot of "near misses" out there. There was a lot of time when I was stuck behind a slower biker but couldn't pass due to the traffic. Needless to say, my bike time was not good between the hills and the traffic. I didn't enjoy it.