New to gluten free

Options
I've been battling weight for the past 12 years after I was diagnosed with Crohn's disease in 1999 I went from being a malnourished size six in 2001 to a huge size 24 in 2002 I'm now at the bottem of a size 16 after my two babies but always had problems with the diariah, bloating, cramps, and headaches. Have had multiple colonoscopies which the last one just showed scar tissue but I still had problems with the symptoms. I had started doing some research and realized that crohns and celiac sometimes go hand in hand and one can be misdiagnosed for the other. Decided to go gluten free for a couple days but broke down and had one piece of pizza. It was like my intestines were mad at me and punished me for that one piece. So now I need help! A German who loves her dough but likes being healthy better! So help I'm at 218 and I need to get way lower than that and have no idea what's good and not good for me!

Replies

• jus_in_bello
    jus_in_bello Posts: 326 Member
    Options
    We used to joke in my family that it was ironic half of us were gluten in tolerant and we're Italian...turns out it is really common in Italy. I feel for you, bread and pasta is huge in my family, now it's all gluten free.

When you are first GF I suggest eating naturally gluten free foods, lots of fruits and veggies and meats. Read the ENTIRE ingredient list for everything you put in your mouth.

Mood swings are totally normal for the first week or two...possibly longer as your body detoxes.
  • cmbb_jenner
    Options
    I've noticed that sleeping isn't coming so easy.
  • dovek11
    dovek11 Posts: 94 Member
    Options
    I am so sorry to hear what you have been through, and can feel your pain!

On day 3 of being gluten free, I was nearly manic with with draw. I read that this could happen, It was my only sanity savor. I was 'craving' food I don't even LIKE!!!!