What Time Do You Typically Work Out?

Options
EconMama
EconMama Posts: 10 Member
Hi guys,

What time do you all usually work out? I'm a PhD student, so I typically have flexibility in my day to go to the gym during the day. But now that things are beginning to seriously crunch as I work to finish my dissertation, I'm realizing that I might have to switch to early morning workouts in order to get it in. But I *hate* getting up early (though I feel 100% better when I do…it's just those first 5 minutes!).

Two things I've realized really help me get the work out in, regardless of time:
1) Planning the exact time I'm going to go (it helps to take a class at the gym or meet w/ a friend)
2) If I don't have a lot of time, accepting that even a half-assed 20 minute workout is better than nothing (instead of just putting it off until I can do a "real" workout)

What about you all? Morning, midday, lunch? How do you squeeze in your workouts between working and taking care of the fam? How do you motivate? And, if you're an early morning worker-outer, how do you do it!?!?!

Replies

• msrootitooti
    msrootitooti Posts: 253 Member
    Options
    During the week, I try to go to the gym or work out at home Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday at about 8 (after the kids go to bed) and on the weekend, I try for 9 when I put the little one for a nap.
  • aprilelayne
    aprilelayne Posts: 41 Member
    Options
    During the week I am lucky to do a class during the lunch hour. So Monday-Thursday I get in at least a 45minute to a 60minute DVD, right now we are doing P90X and Jillian Michaels. And Zumba once a week.
    So midday is when I get a majority of my workouts done, however I'm trying to find the time to add in treadmill time. I'm afraid its going to have to be mornings before the family wakes up, so 4:30?
  • elaine_des
    elaine_des Posts: 189 Member
    Options