Beginner training routine

Options
Rayman79
Rayman79 Posts: 2,009 Member
OK guys, I've been training for a few months now, and on my current program for about three months of that. It is a four day split but I'm thinking of reducing this to a three day full body routine (it also helps with the time constraints I have due to work atm)

So I'm looking to use the beginners program that has been mentioned a few times on here (thanks Chris), and wanted to ask people's thoughts on a slight tweak to the program.

Here is the routine:
Squat 3 x 10
Bench press 3 x 8
Bent row 3 x 8
Military press 3 x 8
SLDL 3 x 8
BB curl 3 x 8

My thoughts:
Taking out the Squats and SLDL's on the middle workout (ie Wednesday) to give my legs & lower back a little more recovery time - they seem to be the hardest hit and take longer to recover while I'm cutting.
Substituting chinups for the BB curls
If I do take out the heavy leg work from one of the workouts, any suggestions of what other work to replace it with? Maybe put the curls back in for that day?

Or should I just suck it up and leave the program as is?

Replies

• Rayman79
    Options
    shameless bump ;)
  • taekwonkenpo
    Options
    Sldl meand dead lift i assume?
  • Rayman79
    Options
    Yeah, straight legged deads
  • taekwonkenpo
    Options
    I am a bit confused about the routine you are suggesting. You only mention one workout. I assume that this routine it split into different days somehow. It is hard to make a suggestion without knowing how you intend to split up your routine.

However, with that being said, I can make one sugestion. The deadlift is a excercise that works out a lot of your body. You should not substitute it for a excercise that only focuses on one muscle group. Deadlift is good for shoulders, back, arms, chest, legs and more. So even without the jist of your routine i would suggest you not take out the deadlift.