I need HELP!!!!

Options
smitchum
smitchum Posts: 13 Member
I am sure you all can relate. I run to eat and the older i get it is not that simple. I am a coffee and sugar addict. I run marathons and am gaining weight. I cannot get a hold of my cravings and feel WEAK! my next marathon is in Jan and I am eating so much that my motivation and training is suffering. I am so tired of STARTING over. I have lost 50 pounds in the past of eating healthy. I am an RN and aware of what a healthy diet is... I have been running marathons for 8 years.... just need words of encouragement please and thank you!

Replies

• marikevr
    marikevr Posts: 389 Member
    Options
    I find marathon training makes me hungry! Cravings I can easily ignore, true hunger is a different story. i am trying to drop about 5 kgs, the balance between eating enough to sustain long distance training and losing weight is a tough one!
  • BrianSharpe
    BrianSharpe Posts: 9,248 Member
    Options
    Apply the same discipline to your nutrition as you do your training (easy to say, I know......) the fact that you run marathons tells me that you have it in you, it's a matter of resolve.

As an RN I'm going to assume that you work in a fairly stressful environment, you may find this article interesting:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/11070333
  • schmenge55
    schmenge55 Posts: 745 Member
    Options
    Marathon training does crank up the appetite, that's for sure. Are you getting enough calories after your runs? You may need to shift when you get your calories. Can you graze on really low cal things like broccoli florets?
  • twentyquestions
    twentyquestions Posts: 5 Member
    Options