We are pleased to announce that on March 4, 2025, an updated Rich Text Editor will be introduced in the MyFitnessPal Community. To learn more about the upcoming changes, please click here. We look forward to sharing this new feature with you!

Ingredients Question

KarCrib
KarCrib Posts: 39 Member
edited January 10 in Social Groups
I hope this is not too silly. I obviously look at all ingredients when buying something. I came across something the other day that had no animal products but with the disclaimer:

May include milk products.

What does that mean - MAY? Would you still buy it?

Replies

  • katejkelley
    katejkelley Posts: 839 Member
    No, I wouldn't. I have a dairy intolerance, so I need to stay away from all of that. If it says "may contain", it probably does.
  • freckles_cmj
    freckles_cmj Posts: 205 Member
    I avoid that "may" thing...which really is annoying..how do they not KNOW what is in their stuff? Lately I am trying to really eat only whole foods, so its a lot easier to avoid accidental dairy and eggs. Since giving them up I know when I eat something with dairy in it because my stomach will start to hurt something awful!
  • I second Freckles...So many pre-packaged products have the "may contain dairy" or "processed in a plant that uses dairy" labels, that I am pretty much moving to whole foods. I, too, notice that when I do ingest dairy, my stomach starts cramping. There's got to be something really wrong with that stuff!
  • KarCrib
    KarCrib Posts: 39 Member
    Thanks. Kind of what I thought. I tend to eat whole foods as well but DH likes granola bars, or cereal in a box. Thanks for your feedback.
  • Evachiquita
    Evachiquita Posts: 223 Member
    Basically what others said. I think that manufacturers have to put that on their package if the product was made in a facility that also uses milk, dairy, nuts, gluten, soy, etc. even if the ingredients are vegan.
  • britstrrr
    britstrrr Posts: 33 Member
    If it's between two similar products and one is "may", I buy the one that isn't. If there is only one product (like last week when I was buying pitas) and it says "may", I buy it. Same with "made in a factory that also makes...". I am doing this as an ethical choice, not because of an allergy or intolerance.
  • DinahCakes
    DinahCakes Posts: 61 Member
    I think it means their recipe changes from time to time depending on who knows what? But this way they're covered.
  • azalea617
    azalea617 Posts: 109 Member
    Like others said, it's definitely because the food is produced in the same factory as something else with dairy. It's not a "dairy-free" workplace, so they have to make that claim just in case some magically got in (from maybe not cleaning equipment enough) because if someone has a reaction then they can't be sued. Covering all their bases, basically.
  • RawTriGal
    RawTriGal Posts: 190 Member
    I have followed up with a couple companies regarding that disclaimer and both told me that it was because the food was processed in a facility that also processed dairy items, therefore there may be residual.
  • mmddwechanged
    mmddwechanged Posts: 1,687 Member
    I would buy it because I don't have an intolerance to dairy. "May contain". Means that if there's a trace it was unintentional. In other words the food was not produced in a guaranteed dairy free environment.
This discussion has been closed.