Ditch the scale...

Options
julieofarc
julieofarc Posts: 31 Member
.... seems to be where I am at right now, and also the philosophy at my box. However, I'm struggling to change my mentality and still move forward. Basically, I'm tracking waist & hip measurements and ignoring the scale. It just makes me crazy because I am not a steady loser regardless of method. My current plan is to eat fairly clean paleo and get into the box 4x a week and just let the weight normalize. Has anyone else had success doing something similar? Did you continue to track here?

I wish the tickers could be set to inches lost, not pounds.

(I'm new to MFP, but finding it easier to use for a food log than others I have tried, which makes it feasible to just track for my coaches to review if I'm not making the progress they would expect. I set my daily caloric intake to "maintain weight" so I don't get all the over goal notices and feedback and can just use it to track food.)

Replies

• bananapancakebella
    Options
    Ditch the scale. I've gained weight since starting crossfit. My thighs, butt, chest and arms are bigger. My waist is slimmer, and I'm getting a cut on the sides of my butt, plus it's a lot perkier. I've definitely lost fat and am enjoying newbie gains. I also play volleyball, my slams sre harder, i can jump higher and block better. I'd go crazy if I was judging progress by the scale. For my sanity, I can't look at it.
  • difabu
    difabu Posts: 143
    Options
    I'm trying to but it's so hard! Especially when my coworkers keep commenting on how much I've lost and I feel the need to confess it's actually not that much according to scale.

I CrossFit 4-5 mornings a week (this is just my fourth week) and my weight is currently hovering though I'm losing inches everywhere. I feel leaner! I'm struggling to divorce myself from the scale as I continue to drop the fat.
  • shaywallis
    shaywallis Posts: 165 Member
    Options