cycling

Options
I got my bike last weekend! Totally new to this sport- would love any advice or just general info you have to share.

I'm hoping to join some of the women's rides that Gray Goat has on Saturday mornings.

Angie

Replies

• aeverton
    aeverton Posts: 359
    Options
    *sigh*
    crickets

:)
    Angie
  • kenjleigh
    kenjleigh Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    Hi! I'm a bit new to the Indy area so I haven't cycled (besides stationary) around here much, to be honest the drivers scare me. I'm used to quiet country roads where you can see cars a mile away. But I think I'd like to try this summer around here. What's the Gray Goats ride?
  • Coolhand1969
    Coolhand1969 Posts: 833 Member
    Options
    I was wondering what "Gray Goat" was my self...

I have to say I'm new to cycling also so I'm not much help Angie..
  • seena511
    seena511 Posts: 685 Member
    Options
    you could get a pass for eagle creek park...i ride through and around it as part of most of my rides. it's a little hilly/the roads aren't great in some places, but there's a lot fewer cars. just watch out for deer...
  • Philllbis
    Philllbis Posts: 801 Member
    Options
    I love to cycle. Best advice I can tell is to learn to maintain your bike, wear a helmet and ride lots!
  • aeverton
    Options
    Gray Goat is the bike shop where I bought my bike. They have no drop rides every Saturday. A long, medium and short route. (short is about 25 miles)

Well since I've posted this topic- I've watched a butt load of youtube videos about changing gears (I'm so new to cycling, I didn't really know all the ins and outs about this), I also went to Gray Goat's free bike maintenance class and learned how to change a tire- I'm thinking I'll need to go again- lots of steps to remember!!

I'm honestly afraid to get out on the busier roads until I can get more experience- I can't seem to hold a line very well. I hope this comes with practice!!

Angie
  • Coolhand1969