New Member- Recently Diagnosed- Pursuing Paleo Lifestyle

Options
Hi Everyone!

I am new to all this! I am 27 years old, married almost 2 years. I just recently got diagnosed with PCOS after I had a 3 week period, told my doctor I had been off BC for 6 months and haven't gotten pregnant. We aren't TTC, but it was odd that it hadn't happened anyways. I read an article recently citing that the Paleo diet has had a good impact on people with PCOS, so I thought I'd try it.

My thoughts so far?

Its complicated, haha, and expensive, but two weeks in and I'm 3 lbs down, so I feel like I should see where this train leads me.

Disclaimer: its really not THAT much more expensive, from what I see. I dont spend all that money on grains, cheeses, milk, etc, so I just redirect my budget toward meats and vegetables, but it is a bit expensive.

Connect with me if you want, I would love to talk about the adjustments necessary (coming to grips with the "I" word has been a struggle for me), or if you are trying the paleo thing, I would be interested to see what the impact has been on your PCOS and ability to conceive. Eventually I would like to conceive, so I figure I might as well start figuring this out now, haha!

Replies

• atrjohnson
    atrjohnson Posts: 77 Member
    Options
    I am not trying to conceive but my diet floats between paleo and low carb. I am really bad as I use the weekend for my splurge time. I know it hsould not be done this way. On the weekends is when I am out so I definitely have a tendency to have some type of bread. My cycle is still struggling to regulate it self and thus far I go from regular one month to two cycles the next month and vice versa. I will saythat my skin has cleared up and my energy level did go up. I don't have a favorite paleo recipe but I love a good crustless quiche. I had it for lunch today with my salad. My blood pressure, sugar level, and testosterone level have normalized as well.
  • WifeofPJ
    WifeofPJ Posts: 312
    Options