Newbie looking for extreme beginner exercise tips

Options
Hi everyone! I just joined mfp and I lurked around this group a little bit before deciding to join. You all seem pretty awesome so far! I do have a question though and I'm hoping someone here can help.

I'm really a beginner on the whole exercising thing and I can't afford a gym membership at the moment. I'm looking for a program I can youtube or buy on DVD that targets a lot of basic flexibility, maybe yoga or something. In 2011, I was hospitalized for a while and had to learn to walk, use my hands, everything from zero. Since then, I've had a lot of issues with flexibility and basic things that never bothered me before. Physical therapy was pretty much a joke and didn't address that at all. Does anyone know of anything that might be a good solution? Maybe like "Yoga for people with the flexibility of a steel pole" or something like that. Bonus points if its something free or really cheap!

Replies

• m23prime
    m23prime Posts: 358 Member
    Options
    First off... HI! Welcome.

Second--I know absolutely nothing except this one thing:

Before you start ANY exercise program, talk to your doctor. Seriously.

Then once you are cleared...go for a walk. A stroll. A perambulation. That's all.

A journey of a hundred plus pounds begins with a single step. (quickly followed by a few more)

The next phase is a pedometer/ step counter. I swear by mine. Easy stages--build up to 10k steps a day. Then, rather than piling on steps, work on taking more of your 10k in a row--then work on taking your steps faster.

Don't make it complicated.

Don't make it hard.

Find the fun.

If you beat yourself up on the first day you won't come back.

Listen to your body.

Make exercise a habit rather than a chore.

Now I will let the smart people chime in with some actual HELPFUL advice...

and feel free to friend me!

m(ark)23
  • dward59
    dward59 Posts: 731 Member
    Options