pain in my *kitten*

Options
delmc1
delmc1 Posts: 331 Member
hi im new to cycling ,started about a month ago on an old bike doing a few kms just to get fit .went and got myself a hybrid and increased the distance i am doing ,starting to enjoy it now doing about 30k 3/4 times a week .
my question is can someone recommend a good pair of shorts as now the more i do the more pain im in .i got a cheap pair for 10euro but not good enough .went to a bike shop and he wanted to sell me a pair for 50euro .so if someone could recommend a pair in the middle .thanks

Replies

• lisapr123
    lisapr123 Posts: 863 Member
    Options
    My husband and I both use Canari brand shorts. They run about $40 USD.
  • ghost15026
    Options
    Try Amazon, read reviews. A major brand in the US is Pearl Izumi. Mostly quality stuff (not all of it). Shorts are very good, though. I usually expect to pay about $35+ USD for a good set on sale so maybe about 15 euros. No pair of shorts is worth $100 USD/50 euro. None.

Keep in mind that bike shorts aren't the only reason your backside may hurt. First, if you're not used to cycling your backside needs time to adjust. Second, bike fit is important - if you're leaning back too far/reaching too high then you shift way too much weight to your backside. Third, a good saddle is crucial for medium/long-distance ride (30 km easily qualifies for a mid-distance ride). Gel/soft saddles are OK for short rides but they'll make you regret it later on. Oddly, the best seats are usually the hard/stiff seats (Specialized BG Romin 143mm+) but they're pricey. I'd emphasize all 3 of these factors as priorities.

Good luck.
  • beatpig
    beatpig Posts: 97 Member
    Options
    No pair of shorts is worth $100 USD/50 euro. None.

Unless they caress you gently whilst you're sweating away and kiss the pain afterwards.

Then, and only then...Are they worth 50euros.
  • KANGOOJUMPS
    KANGOOJUMPS Posts: 6,472 Member
    Options
    search and review first.
  • sijomial