too heavy to lift heavy?

Options
So yesterday after my first attempt at SL I am out to lunch with a group of ladies when of course the discussion turns to weight loss and exercise. One sweet friend who lost 25# with cardio explained to us that you mustn't use strength training for weight loss because it only builds muscle under fat thereby making you bigger. Another said that was exactly why she quit strength. I wanted to disagree with them and argue the whole diet is a much bigger factor thing, but I'm no expert and don't want to be one of those people who act like they are...
so please reassure me (or don't, be honest) Am I, who still has 45# to lose, doing the right thing by starting SL? I know you are all fans of the program or you wouldn't be here, but is there anyone here who lost their weight doing this? Should I lose more first? I am 43 years old, maybe i do need more than HIIT (my plan was SL 3x a week, HIIT 2x a week) Too scared to continue until I hear from someone (who used to be) in my shoes...

Replies

• neandermagnon
    neandermagnon Posts: 7,436 Member
    Options
    you are right and they are wrong. When you start weight/strength training, your muscles may get "pumped" i.e. a one-time increase in size, due to them retaining more water and glycogen. This is frequently mistaken for "oh wow I'm a genetic freak and I gain muscle really easily I'm going to look like the incredible hulk if I carry on like this!". Bulkiness, however, comes from excess fat. You may see a slight increase in size under the fat from strength training, but as you progressively lose the fat you'll get smaller again, and as you lose the fat and reveal strong muscles, you'll look fit and lean, not bulky.