Where to start...

Hello ladies. I am glad I found this group because I am about to bulk and I'm not sure where to start. I've been lifting for about 3 years. I did make some gains at first but eventually I tried to lean out and lost quite a good amount of muscle mass :( My lifts decreased and I started feeling weak/skinny again. Which is not my goal :)

I am 5'5 and around 119 pounds right now. I would estimate my BF to be around 18-19%.

I calculated my BMR to be around 1300... TDE around 1690. Does that make sense? I have a desk job and work out 5-6 hours a week (lifting/cardio, although I'm pretty sure I won't do much cardio starting friday). Let's say I add 10% to those cals, that would put me at a daily cal intake of about 1860. That seems like a LOT of food to me, but I'm just not used to it I guess.

I'm seeing a trainer at my gym this friday to start a new building program. I am excited but a little scared of gaining only fat and no muscle mass!

Can't wait to deadlift again!! :)

Replies

• JoRocka
    JoRocka Posts: 17,525 Member
    Sounds about right to me- typically for women you want to add 200 or so- if that number seems daunting to you- add it in slowly 50 or 100 at a time- if you aren't seeing changes over several weeks- up it again. Most men start around 500 extra- but for us since building muscle is hard- and putting on fat is easy... 500 can be too much.

So- you're about right.

Lift lots- if you want size gains- you are looking for 5-10 rep range- strength 2-5ish

eat-
    lift
    sleep

later rinse repeat.

LULZ at 1900- I can eat that in one sitting.

I'm bulking at 2000 and some days it's a joke at how little it feels like- other days I feel like I'm cramming food down my gullet.

Ice cream and peanut butter become your friends.

Realize that this is NOT easy. There are a lot more emotional/mental barriers you will be fighting than physical ones.
    Invest in leggings
    invest in jersey wrap dresses