Pikes Peak - Marathon or Ascent?!

Options
Okay fellow runners...I've got 9 days before registration opens for Pikes Peak Marathon and Ascent. I know I want to do one of them. I just don't know which one. It sells out fast, so I need to make up my mind prior to March 12th.

Here are my thoughts:

Ascent (7,815 feet gain in 13.32 miles):
-Since it's my first time, it would be nice to actually get to the top and be able to enjoy the views, and not have to worry about rushing to get back down.
-Less chance for injury.

Marathon (the ascent, plus you go back down):
-It sounds way more epic to say I did the marathon.
-I could use the long run as training for my first 50 mile ultra, which is about 45 days post-Pikes (however the ultra I'm doing doesn't have all that much gain - so that part isn't really necessary)
-Downhill isn't my strong point

So thoughts? Anyone? Bueller?

Also - for anyone new to mountain races like this - unless you're an elite (which I most definitely am not), it's pretty much a glorified power hike to the top, followed by running on the downhill sections. I did a similar race this past year, called Imogene Pass Run, which was 5,500 feet of gain in 10 miles followed by 4,500 feet of loss in 7. Not quite as difficult as Pikes - but a step in that direction.

For some reason I just can't decide what I want to do. Oh and it's also the same price to do either distance - which is also making it difficult.

Replies

• dorianaldyn
    dorianaldyn Posts: 611 Member
    Options
    I enjoy the downhill part, so if it were up to me, I'd do the marathon. You're going to have to get down anyway, right?!
  • KateRunsColorado
    KateRunsColorado Posts: 407 Member
    Options
    Haha true - but for the Ascent it's via a nice comfy shuttle (although it would also probably be very stinky...as I've noticed the last couple times I've had to shuttle back with a bunch of sweaty runners crammed into a small space, lol).
  • DavidMartinez2