age appropriate clothing?

Options
2»

Replies

• Wonderwomantam
    Wonderwomantam Posts: 40 Member
    Options
    I am finding it hard also. Even more so that I have three teenaged daughters. Being out with them, beautiful, tall and stylish, can at times make me feel either like I am trying to dress like them, or look matronly. I have never been a fashion plate dresser, but I am a professional and want to look classy without looking like my mother. :laugh:
  • Wonderwomantam
    Wonderwomantam Posts: 40 Member
    Options
    Does anyone have any recommendations of what store to look for classy, stylish clothes for 40+'ers, especially for summer?
  • jenm0611
    jenm0611 Posts: 13
    Options
    I hate trying to find clothes! There is really no happy medium (as many have said). I don't want to be "soccer mom" all the time but I am not my 20 year old daughter and I am not my 60 year old mother. I have found however some really nice shorts that are kind of "mid length" from Calvin Klein. Also, being in the industry I am in, I can get away with jeans 99% of the time. My problem is shirts. I can't find anything that fits right, and I am so tired of dark drab colors. I also have a tendency to be cheap. I guess having raised kids and being responsible I have a problem sending money on myself so most of the time I will find something I like and of course I think it is too expensive so I pass on it! Consignment stores and thrift stores seem to be my best friend when it comes to clothes shopping. I sometimes hate to admit it but the clothes are used so they are stretched and "formed" and won't sag a month after you get them home.
  • jchrisman717
    jchrisman717 Posts: 780 Member
    Options