painful overhead movments

Options
spitzboop
spitzboop Posts: 15 Member
Hi everyone !!
I am relatively new to cross fit- finished on ramp three weeks ago, and have been averaging 3 X per week classes since....my question to you all is did you struggle with any shoulder issues in the beginning ? I've noted the last week that my over heard movements have a tendency to induce a sharp pain on the R when I go above 90 degrees quickly- once I'm up ( for example in a handstand - or during a pulling type motion) I seem to be fine....does anyone have any similar experiences - is it simply musclular in the sense that I need to develop it and work on strength, more of a tendonitis type reaction, due to limited shoulder mobilitiy/flexibity, or heaven forbid a possible tear ??

Thanks all !!

Replies

• bostonwolf
    bostonwolf Posts: 3,038 Member
    Options
    sharp pain is generally not a good thing. I'd walk through it with one of your coaches before you tried any other movement that would induce that pain.
  • Inkratlet
    Inkratlet Posts: 613 Member
    Options
    I had shoulder issues lowering the bar back down, strangely enough. I trained to be a physiotherapist (completely out of the loop now though) so I can generally tell the difference between muscular tightness and something more, and for me it is mostly deltoid/pectoral tightness and rotator cuff impingement which is quite common around the shoulder structure. It was particularly uncomfortable lowering in a snatch grip. It's actually improved now that I've become stronger. In fact, most of my shoulder and upper back problems have improved since starting CrossFit.