Blood sugar tracking using MFP? (on injections, not pump)

Options
sassysarahmary
sassysarahmary Posts: 11 Member
Hi everyone!!

I'm new to the diabetes forums but not new to my this awesome resource!! I am 33 and have been T1D for 29.5 years. I am currently doing multiple daily injections....have tried the pump for over a year and was not for me. I test tons and done mind doing so. My h1c is currently a little high for me, at 8.0. I am really committed to decreasing to 7 over the next year. I have also just started taking victoza so my insulin dosages are changing slightly. I am very active...hot yoga a few times per week and gym, walks, etc a couple other times per week. I am trying to find the best fit to track both my food (hugely important to me, and I love MFP!!) and my blood sugars and insulin dosages. I don't want to use another tool for my food diary as I find this one to be fantastic. Any suggestions for how to use this effectively for tracking blood sugars/insulin? I have also used glucose buddy but I don't like switching between apps. Any input or evidence is appreciated!!

Replies

• T1DCarnivoreRunner
    T1DCarnivoreRunner Posts: 11,502 Member
    Options
    That is a good question, and I don't know of any apps for diabetic tracking that link to MFP. Have you found a smartphone app for diabetes? If you found one you like that has detailed food input (as opposed to just entering carbs), I suggest contacting the developer.
  • abatonfan
    abatonfan Posts: 1,120 Member
    Options
    I have been making notes in my food diary about my BG for a while. It's a lot easier for me to go back to the last time I ate something, see whether it spiked me up or brought me down, and adjust my insulin dosage for that meal. It also helped me to find foods that are always a problem (thank you, hot dogs and peanut butter Atkins bars) so that I can avoid them if possible.
  • sassysarahmary
    Options