Introductions!

Options
df1982
df1982 Posts: 147 Member
Hi!

I just wanted to get this thread started, but I'll write my introduction tomorrow! Looking forward to getting to know everyone a bit. The Whole30 is definitely a challenge, but soooooo worth it in my experience. Let's support each other through it!

Replies

• mariamathsgeek
    mariamathsgeek Posts: 236 Member
    Options
    Hi

I'm new to My Fitness Pal. I'm starting Whole 30 today too. I tried it before in May and managed about 18 days, lost 11lbs and felt great before foolishly giving in to my cravings for booze/carbs. It really works if you can stick to it. Anyway, I'm totally prepared and starting again today. Could do with a support group on here. Am also on the Whole 30 forum.

Cheers, Maria.
  • df1982
    Options
    Hi Maria (and all!)

I've been looking for ways to involve myself in that Whole30 forum. How do you like it? There is SO much going on there, I thought I would start a group on here as well, since it is what I know.

As for me, why did I start this group? I struggle with emotional eating as well as a mood disorder. I eat compulsively when I am anxious and depressed, but also when I am happy and excited. In the past, I've always thought of "getting healthy" as exercising harder and harder to make up for some of what I eat. That is, until the Whole30. It seemed so extreme, but once I cut out the sugar, grains, legumes, alcohol and dairy for a month (as well as some nasty preservatives), I felt like a different human being. I definitely lost weight, but that was the least of it in many ways. I also felt happier and calmer, way more of the time. I could take stressful events in stride, instead of falling apart (and into a bag of gummy bears). It no longer required iron-clad will power to avoid late night eating, or get to the gym and the office (I work on my own schedule, so it is all too easy for me to stay at home in bed on one of my bad days).