Clueless newbie

Options
this will be jumbled and rambling and depressing. be warned.

i would really like to ride the Harry Potter ride at Universal Studios. In order to do this, I need to lose at least 100 lbs. I need to lose more like 180 to be in my ideal weight range. I have a 50.9 BMI. I would also like to still be alive to meet my grandchildren. I am 38 and went on my first diet at age 11. I've done medifast, jenny craig, weight watchers, atkins, cabbage soup, some weird diet where you ate nothing but fruit juice and brown rice one day and bananas and milk another day, pritikin, gone vegetarian, overeaters anonymous... i always ended up gaining back much more than i lost. weight watchers was the easiest to live with, but all the counting just made everything seem so complicated and if i messed up, i always felt like my day or my week was a disaster.

i am a terrible cook. i am also a very busy sports/PTA mom with a lot of responsibilities in the evenings. Dinner for me is often drive through food or a bowl of cereal.

my idea of eating healthy doesn't involve stuff that was created in a lab from ingredients i can't pronounce. artificial sweeteners taste really bad to me. if i accidentally take a sip of a diet drink, i can't seem to get the nasty taste of my mouth. i'm happy to drink water and choose it over sweet drinks 90+% of the time. i baked one of those cakes where you replace the liquid with diet soda and i ended up throwing the thing away because it was so bitter. i think i could live with the liquid diet part of the process, but not if i have to choke down artificial sweeteners.

i have a bad kidney that basically sits there making stones. i generally avoid too much protein and calcium, though my main problem is not drinking enough water.

so... am i kidding myself thinking that a sleeve is a possibility for me?