Fitbit calories are kinda freaking me out

Options
txrn123
txrn123 Posts: 47 Member
I'm sure it's prob just that when I started MFP a few months ago I solely went by their daily cal limit of like 1350 and since adding FB and all my activity is added in, the daily allowed cals have been bumped up by 300 to 500 cals each day. I'm averaging 11,000 to 12,000 steps a day cuz I'm a nurse and am on the go a lot. It just worries me that I am going to over eat and I've done so well with MFP so far.
Anyone use both MFP and FB together and start to backslide?

Replies

• knitnrunmj
    knitnrunmj Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    The first time I saw that, I admit...it gave me a shock. But I try to keep my eye on the total food cals, and if that fails, I just skip right to the fitbit app for my total intake. My goals on both apps are very close, so it'll tell me if I'm going over my original allotment.
  • kuranda10
    kuranda10 Posts: 593 Member
    edited March 2015
    Options
    What is your BMR? I never eat below that number. I ignore the MFP suggestion and "use custom goals". Fitbit also goes way too low sometimes.
    When I was working I too was clocking up 12,000 steps without even thinking about it. And that was just at work. So if my body uses 1400 just to stay in a living state, think how much more it needs to power 12,000 steps!

I do Low Carb, but I was eating in the 1600-1800+ calorie range and losing.

The thing I like best is, because FB calculates your TDEE, you are never really eating the same amount of calories a day, so you are constantly shaking your body up.
  • myfatass78
    myfatass78 Posts: 411 Member
    edited March 2015
    Options
    MFP has predicted that I will burn 2500 calories today (including BMR / TDEE) just from me going to work (I'm a cleaner so I walk lots) plus doing some grocery shopping. Love those days. No need to exercise specifically when you are burning that many calories. Not eating those calories back either.
  • hep275