bowel issues and long runs

Options
pobalita
pobalita Posts: 741 Member
Ok, this is a little embarrassing. I've been running for a few years now and have developed a new problem on my long runs. It seems that I have an emergency loose BM situation almost every time I go above 10 miles. It seems to come out of the blue and happens even if I go before I leave the house.

Has anyone else dealt with this? It's very frustrating. I was on PR pace at the Marine Corps Marathon a few weeks ago and blew it waiting in line for a portable toilet at mile 12.

Replies

• PeteWhoRuns
    PeteWhoRuns Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    Something new in your diet? How close are you eating/drinking before your runs? I generally try to go on an empty stomach, or at least 3hrs after eating something.
  • mbaker566
    mbaker566 Posts: 11,233 Member
    Options
  • MobyCarp
    MobyCarp Posts: 2,927 Member
    Options
    I found this kicking in at about the half marathon distance. A couple of halfs, I had a sprint for the restroom after the finish line. I learned to pay more attention to what I eat the day or two before the race, and cut down on fiber. Fewer salads, fewer apples, more pasta . . . the bowel management issue seems bigger for me than the carb loading aspect. That got me through my first marathon with no bowel issues, and three half marathons after that.

For long training runs, I don't need to watch as far in advance. Skip the apple I eat on most days in the morning till after the long run, and that's about the only adjustment. YMMV, depending on what is normal in your daily nutrition and how your body reacts.
  • rjmudlax13
    rjmudlax13 Posts: 909 Member
    Options