weighing and measuring

Options
nightbird1103
nightbird1103 Posts: 34 Member
I've been logging for about 2 months now and I've been losing slowly (up and down), but I keep reading how important it is to not estimate intake. Most days I'm grateful that I'm eating actual food instead of whatever is in the break room at work or some random goldfish crackers from my kids' lunches.
So, I'm going to begin the weigh/measure everything this Sunday. I'm going to prep things in little containers. Measure salad dressing, the whole bit. I usually just log 4 oz of chicken without actually measuring it, and estimate with all my proteins really and I don't always log my veggies-

Wish me luck! I'd love to hear from anyone who's done this and seen results!

Replies

• momo_t90
    momo_t90 Posts: 288 Member
    edited March 2016
    Options
    When I lived with my parents, they had a food scale and I used it for everything. I coupled that with a lot of exercise. (I was in a mixed martial arts class at the time.) I saw great results in my weight!

Unfortunately, I stopped doing all that and gained the weight back and more. But I highly recommend a good scale if you don't have one already. I'm thinking about getting one myself. I think they're around $30?

Somebody posted a video that showed the importance of exact measuring. There were two identical meals and one had almost twice as much calories as the other. If I can find it, I'll post it here.

Found it!

http://youtu.be/vjKPIcI51lU
  • alannabuck
    alannabuck Posts: 9 Member
    Options
    I agree with @momo_t90 , it's surprising what a difference weighing your food makes. For example, whenever I try to eyeball an ounce of cheese THEN weigh it, I've always overestimated. :'(

I use this when I'm at the top of my calorie counting game: http://amzn.com/B00NX47YP4 . It's not too expensive and in my opinion worth it if you're religious about calorie counting. :)
  • lexabeep
    lexabeep Posts: 232 Member
    Options