Pre-marathon anxiety?!?

Options
VanderTuig1976
VanderTuig1976 Posts: 145 Member
Hi,

I have signed up for a marathon (my first) on May 1st. I started training in Dec. and have been loosely following the Hal Higdon Novice 2 plan (I follow the long-run schedule but run more weekly miles than the plan calls for.) I run approx. 50 miles a week (give or take a few). I have completed all of the long runs and plan to repeat the 19 and 20 milers before I start my taper. The only thing I haven't done is hill training and the course does have some rolling hills. I ran hills over the summer (much steeper than the marathon course) and plan to get a few short hill runs in before the marathon but will not have time to aggressively hill train.

Based off of things I have read online and in this forum, I believe I'm ready but.....I am having major doubts!!!! I'm not sure if it's because it's my first one and I don't have any experience to draw on.

I am having nightmares about the race (feet sinking in sand and not able to move them, not making the time cut-off, running out of gel, etc.) I wake up at night in a panic and can't stop thinking about it. I also have thoughts about being the slowest runner and getting lost on the course.

I've put a lot of hard work in and want to enjoy this experience but the negative thoughts and nightmares are really weighing on me.

Has anyone else experienced this? What did you do to get through it?

Replies

• MobyCarp
    MobyCarp Posts: 2,927 Member
    Options
    When you train to a long run that is less than the marathon distance, it is normal to have some anxiety about being able to run the full distance. I had that for my first marathon, and I had done a 22 mile run. No matter how many people told me, "If you can run 20 miles you can run a marathon," I wasn't positive until after I did it.