I found I am pregnant, started running recently

Options
gloqui20
gloqui20 Posts: 2 Member
Hi there,

I just found this weekend I am pregnant, probably 4 - 5 weeks by now. I usually workout 4 times per week, 30 min HIIT training or weights (I've been doing it for almost 10 months by now) plus 2 - 3 times running for 30 min. I started running recently - Iike a month ago - and I was reading I should avoid overheating or exercising to the point of overheating.

I usually don't overheat with HIIT or weights, but I do when running - I did the last 2 times. I am worried I already did some damage to the baby :( and I am not sure if I should continue running. I would like to, at least for the first trimester. I was thinking maybe going running with a bottle of water and keep drinking so I stay hydrated and don't overheat. What do you think? Would you continue running or should I be on the safe side and stop and just do HIIT or weights? Any advice would be welcome.

Replies

• heffsloop
    heffsloop Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    Running is great exercise, even while pregnant. I ran befor pregnancy, and during my first trimester, but at 23 weeks, I am getting a little too uncomfortable. So, if it's comfortable to you, run, but the most critical thing is to keep your heart rate lower. IE if you do a 10 minute mile, slow it down to a 12 minute mile. Check out this article: http://womensrunning.competitor.com/2015/03/training-tips/first-trimester-running-lessons-from-a-future-mother_36572
  • tegtmeyerd
    tegtmeyerd Posts: 66 Member
    Options
    Agree, just go slow and keep the mileage down (and of course, ask your doctor). If anything I'd avoid HIIT and stick to the slow and steady running. I was told to keep my HR down and avoid anything jarring or intense, but I don't have the energy for much so I'm down to a mile or two with walking. Hoping I get my energy back soon as I'm only at 8 weeks. Good luck!
  • ashliedelgado
    ashliedelgado Posts: 814 Member
    Options