Introduce Yourself

Options
runwyo
runwyo Posts: 5 Member
Please take a moment to introduce yourself to the group! Share as much, or as little, as you are comfortable with.

Replies

• runwyo
    runwyo Posts: 5 Member
    edited January 2018
    Options
    My name is Shannon and I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis last summer, but suffered from symptoms for two years prior. It is nice to finally have a name for what I've been going through. I am currently a full-time doctorate student (soon entering my dissertation) and am married with two dogs.

Previously, it was my goal to maintain my weight while adjusting to my new medications. Now that I am more used to what I am taking, I am hoping to start getting more active and lose some lbs. My greatest frustration is the prednisone I am on. It makes losing weight a frustrating challenge - but also helps my inflammation so much. You just can't win with it!

I look forward to connecting with others to find things that have worked (and things to avoid)!
  • BanannieFabian
    BanannieFabian Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    I'm Annie, recently turned 36 years and am a Certified Professional Groomer. I haven't been diagnosed with RA, but I'm fairly certain that's what I have due to my symptoms. All my life I've been sickly. I'm a teen cancer survivor of Hodgkin's Disease. I've dealt with migraines, widespread pain, fatigue and many more health issues over the years. I've seen lots of doctors, taken tons of tests and never been given an actual diagnosis. One day I decided to wean myself off all the medications I was prescribed because they, a) weren't very effective and b) how can you prescribe me drugs when you don't really know what's wrong with me? I changed my life... Stopped seeing doctors, quit my stressful office job, went back to dog grooming, changed my diet and started exercising again. My health improved drastically and was great for years.