WEIGHT LOSS SURGERY: Yes, No, Maybe

Options
CharidaRoses
CharidaRoses Posts: 4 Member
What are some of your questions, concerns, fears, barriers about weight loss surgery?

It took me a good 2 attempts with 2 different surgeons and 6 years with my surgeon Dr. Hornbostel to proceed with this surgery. During this journey, I learned and had to correct a lot of misinformation in my brain through the seminars. Talking with people on FACEBOOK group and doing my own personal research. I am not an expert by any chance, as I am still learning!

REGRETS: I would say yes and no. Yes, that I didn't do it sooner. No, due to my faith I believe things happen at the right time. This timing could not have been better!!! I wasn't forced, I wasn't on the fence, it was my decision and my ULTIMATE WHY is I... ME... KITTY want to be more physically independent. This is WHY, I went ahead with it. Not to mention, I just got married and both my husband and I want to become more healthier so we can do more serving others.

What are your thoughts about surgery? Ya... Nah.... M A Y B E?

Of course this is not for everyone, but for those who choose to do. I support their choices.

Replies

• fitterpam
    fitterpam Posts: 3,086 Member
    Options
    I was flat out against WLS of any kind for myself. I have gained and lost 60-80lbs a few times as an adult. For the last 5-6 years, I have been stable, regardless of how much exercise I did or how little food I ate. Last year, I was diagnosed with gastroparesis and the best chance to recover from it was to get the RNY. I spent the next year preparing. Had my surgery May 6 and I'm finally feeling like me again. No regrets - I had spent enough time prior to surgery reflecting and preparing, I haven't been surprised by much.
  • maiomaio71
    maiomaio71 Posts: 231 Member
    Options