Total Beginner!

Options
symegeer
symegeer Posts: 143 Member
Hi all!

I'm completely new to the sport of Triathlon but have been interested in taking it up for years. I'm going to attempt my first super-sprint Tri in June so I'm really pleased to find this group - hopefully some of you can offer me some advice! Over the last few years I've done a few 10 and 5Ks but I'm very slow. Also slow swimming and on the bike (yes, I'm just generally a plodder) so I can only improve. Anyone else here training for their first super-sprint? Or does anyone have some advice for first timers?

:smile:

Replies

• Drudoo
    Drudoo Posts: 275 Member
    Options
    My advice would be to take it slow. There is no need to rush into the sport. There are plenty of great websites out there that have a wealth of information. Check out www.beginnertriathlete.com for a number of free training plans. It's where I started.

Good luck!
  • ImGonnaTri2012
    ImGonnaTri2012 Posts: 6 Member
    Options
    Hi everyone ~ this looks like a great group. I am a 55 year old grandmother who just found this site a couple of days ago. I have a goal of losing weight but also set a goal of doing a sprint all woman's triathlon in June ! Very excited about having this group. I just started adult swimming lessons to get some pointers on my front crawl and it has definitely proved that I have some training ahead of me. I like to bike but with winter most of my cycling will need to be spinning classes or on a stationary bike. I live in the Midwest. I did download a couch to sprint training plan from the website mentioned but mainly I am going to try to swim 2-3 times a week, bike 2 X and walk / jog 2 X a week. I am not trying to look too far ahead but rather just focus on getting a little better each week. Swimming will definitely be the scariest for me since I am doing good to swim 50 yards without stopping now and have never swam in an open water event.