Introductions

Options
Quasita
Quasita Posts: 1,530 Member
Since every group seems to have one of these... LOL

Name: Lynn
About Me:
I'm a queer identifying female, born and raised in Nebraska. I came out on the Day of Silence 2005, on the steps of our state capitol. At the time, I identified as "not straight" but now am comfortable with the term queer, though sometimes I will use bisexual to "simplify" the situation.
I graduated from Univ. Of NE-Lincoln with a degree in Ethnic, Cultural, and Gender literature in December of 2005. My main area of study was in GLBTQA literature and Native American women, though I also studied many regional areas of folklore as well as classics. Even with all this, my favorite authors are Clive Barker and Christopher Bramm, both gay men, but I only found that out after I read them :)
I had the blessing of meeting and discussing activism with the venerable Dorothy Allison, as well as be embraced by lesbian slam poet Stacey Ann Chinn as her sister. I never felt more part of a loving family as I did the day that I came out, and I've fought with all my heart ever since.

As for my blood relatives, out of the 8 members of my immediate family, 3 of the 6 kids are "out".

I'm on MFP because I am a recovering anorexic/bulimic/binge eating sufferer, and trying to lose the weight I gained due to my disorder in a healthy way. I created this group because I wanted to open a door to people where they could ask their questions, speak their minds, seek strength, learn, and prosper in their identities as we all succeed on our fitness paths.

Please feel free to contact me about anything, anytime. I am almost always around somewhere :)

Peace and Love,
Lynn

Replies

• Smiler106
    Smiler106 Posts: 124 Member
    Options
    Thanks for making this forum Lynn!

Ok my turn:

Name: Claire
    About me: