Intro! :)

Options
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to MFP and thought I would introduce myself. I was diagnosed with T1 at age 10, did MDI for years before going onto a pump (currently the Animas Ping) and use the Dexcom CGM when I can afford it. My A1c as a teenager was higher than 14 but my most recent two were 6.4 and 6.7!

Once I finally began treating my diabetes properly around age 14, my weight shot up and never came back down. I'm working towards a 40lb weight loss - I'm new to it and 4 lbs down so far. But I'm feeling good and taking it one day at a time. I'd love for anybody to add me that can relate!

Mary

Replies

• KLK1986
    Options
    Welcome!
  • type1foodie
    Options
    Hi Mary! I was diagnosed at age 10 as well. Welcome!
  • Goog2
    Goog2 Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    Hi there! This is my first day on MFP as well. I am also a type 1 on a pump. Diagnosed 20 years ago and on a pump for the last 10 years.

I am trying to lose those blasted 15 pounds I gained in the last 10 years.. likely a result of having 2 kids and overeating a little bit... but I am very active and eat very healthy .. so I get a bit frustrated me when I gain weight and can't seem to shake it! Can anyone tell me how we are supposed to interpret the various health documents / diets that talk about teating properly to avoid riggering an insulin response - how do we do this when we inject insulin? I constantly read how we are supposed to increase our metabolism by not spiking our insulin, but how does this apply to those of us who are injecting insulin? Can we influnece our metabolism??
  • lozamatoz
    Options
    Hi, I'm Lauren
    I got diagnosed with type one diabetes when I was five and I am now 17.