Surrounded by sabotage

Options
Hello, Im new to MFP, but not new to the losing weight gamut. I try really hard to be as vegan as i can, unfortunately I live in a household with two meat/dairy eaters. I feel like the black sheep or something, alot of people just don't get it, or too busy caught up in their own ways to care. I guess I just have to continue to stay on the vegan road, and to hell with the haters. Sometimes I think people sabotage healthy efforts because they are afraid you will somehow become "better" than them or something. Or maybe Im just paranoid? haha, either way, I hope I can keep on keepin' on. :) JUST DO IT!! (thanks Nike)

Replies

• Kymmy81
    Kymmy81 Posts: 168 Member
    Options
    Hold on, stay strong and steadfast in your beliefs (vegan or otherwise). You are doing the right thing for you, and for the animals by not contributing to the violence. It's hard, but so very worth it. Good luck x
  • jleach
    jleach Posts: 38 Member
    Options
    It's not easy being vegan in a family of meat eaters. Anyone who isn't already familiar with veganism sees it as an attack on their lifestyle. I try very hard not to judge what others eat and hope they will do the same for me. It's been 2 1/2 yrs for me and it's getting easier. The people around me have stopped acting like I'm trying to inconvenience them in some way. I think if you can avoid acting self righteous (some vegans have trouble with that) you're friends and family will come around. I would love it if my husband became vegan but I know that will never happen. We were carnivores together for 25 yrs. I'm the one who changed, so I make sure that I don't impose my beliefs on him. I think it helps if you can not get angry about it and just show everyone the attitude that your lifestyle isn't up for debate, it just is what it is and if you're consistent, they'll adjust.
  • charitywilkins
    Options