Wine Connoisseurs- Educate Us!

macpatti
macpatti Posts: 4,280 Member
I love wine and I've been to Napa Valley a couple of times and recently a winery in Arkansas. My husband and I love wine tasting, but we have no idea what we're doing other than "that one tastes good". Perhaps the wine connoisseurs in this group could help.

What do you look for in smell, taste and appearance?
What makes a bad wine bad?
What do you say if you don't like the wine? Do you finish it or have them dump it?
How is a certain aged wine really good when others get like vinegar?

I'm sure others will have questions, too. Thought we'd start here.

Thanks!

Replies

• Topsking2010
    Topsking2010 Posts: 2,245 Member
    Patti,

As part of my bucket list, I went to Sonoma County and spent the day visiting 4 wineries. I must being a novice, so I'm still learning proper wine etiquette.

When it comes to appearance, the design of the wine bottles catches my eye.

Since I prefer whites, I look for semi-dry wines.

When I don't like the wine, I say nothing but I do pour it in the container.

Does it matter to anyone if a wine is perserved in steel tanks or barrels?

Herb
  • skeezixk9
    skeezixk9 Posts: 1 Member
    Patti,
    I don't consider myself a connoisseur but I am married to someone who has wine as a hobby. We've been to vineyards in the US and Europe and have about 300 bottles in our basement. But I don't like to "talk wine" like my husband does. I like what I like (mostly red) and have trouble remembering the various grapes and terminology.