13»

Replies

• sjohnny
    sjohnny Posts: 56,142 Member
    Options
    CarsonRuns wrote: »
    sjohnny wrote: »
    I like to do a short run before my long runs sometimes. For instance, the evening before my 15 miler, I ran 3miles, and kept thinking "Ok. Just gotta do this 5 times tomorrow." I think of it as a warm up. I'd be scared to do more than 5 before a long race, and 5 is pushing it. But I'm no expert, and I'm listening to you all.

Not the day before a race. I just do a very easy very short "shake out run" the day before a race. The point of running a medium length run the day before a long training run is to pre-tire your legs to better condition you for running on tired legs on race day.

Not before a race either. I'm a bit extreme and take 3 full day off before a marathon :# Fresh legs are amazing!

I'm afraid my legs will seize up :laugh: I'm actually just about to go do a real easy 3 miles with a couple of strides in a few minutes. Then I'll take tomorrow off. Then my little shake out run on Saturday and as much just laying around doing nothing as I can get away with until Sunday morning.
    Good plan.

Thanks!
  • sjohnny
    sjohnny Posts: 56,142 Member
    Options
    I like to do a short run before my long runs sometimes. For instance, the evening before my 15 miler, I ran 3miles, and kept thinking "Ok. Just gotta do this 5 times tomorrow." I think of it as a warm up. I'd be scared to do more than 5 before a long race, and 5 is pushing it. But I'm no expert, and I'm listening to you all.

Not the day before a race. I just do a very easy very short "shake out run" the day before a race. The point of running a medium length run the day before a long training run is to pre-tire your legs to better condition you for running on tired legs on race day.

Not before a race either. I'm a bit extreme and take 3 full day off before a marathon :# Fresh legs are amazing!