Using Inositol? Have you had this side effect?

Options
rowclic
rowclic Posts: 19 Member
Hi ladies!
I've been using Inositol for a couple of months (6g dosage) and I'm happy with the results.

I'm just wondering if anyone else taking it has had side effects.

I take my Inositol just before I eat my breakfast and within 30-40 (like clockwork) I go from feeling perfectly fine to having an occurrence of urgent diarrhea and then that's it - back to normal and good to go for the day! It's nothing I can't handle and at least it's predictable but I was curious if anyone else has experienced this.

I've taken metformin in the past and also had tummy troubles but there was no predictability there!

Thanks and have a great day!

Replies

• Dragonwolf
    Dragonwolf Posts: 5,600 Member
    Options
    How much are you taking, and what do you have for breakfast? Do you eat the same thing every day for breakfast? How long have you been taking the Inositol?

What you report isn't a known side effect of Inositol. The worst/only known GI side effect is nausea. It's possible it could be an extension of that nausea. Might be worth backing down your dose a little for a while and easing back up and see if that helps, or if you've recently started it, just ride it out for a couple of weeks, at which time it should subside.
  • IslandSneezerooo
    IslandSneezerooo Posts: 268 Member
    Options
    I've been taking 2000 mg inositol a day for a few months (half at breakfast, half at dinner) and no, haven't had that side effect... I'm also taking 500 mg metformin at both meals and no intestinal distress since cutting my carbs way back...
  • thisisabbie
    thisisabbie Posts: 521 Member
    Options
    I usually go to the toilet not too long after taking 2mg! Not diarrhoea, but my dose is a lot smaller than yours....

Pretty sure i read somewhere that this can happen?!