Anyone use the MapMyRide app for recording rides? Are you having GPS problems?

Options
m1xm0d3
m1xm0d3 Posts: 1,576 Member
edited May 2015 in Social Groups
This is the service I've been using for the past 3 years and over the past month it's been dropping and losing signal. Since yesterday afternoon it's basically sharted the bed and won't locate. This was during a cloudless sky yesterday... the odd part is on the map, it shows my general area but won't pinpoint.
I'm beyond irritated at their service but I have 3 years & almost 400 workouts invested there with no way to export to another company like Strava or Runtastic. >_<

Replies

• cloggsy71
    cloggsy71 Posts: 2,208 Member
    Options
    Nah, Garmin & Strava here ;)
  • m1xm0d3
    Options
    cloggsy71 wrote: »

So do you use the Garmin to record the ride, then sync it with Strava to log the ride? $$$ is a bit stretched so I only have my phone to use as a recording device. Last I checked it seemed like the GPS devices for cycling were all like $200>
  • TheBigYin
    TheBigYin Posts: 5,682 Member
    Options
    locked in data, no export, that's worrying. Especially for people using a UnderArmour fitness application like... oh... wait a minute...

We're all dooomed, DOOOMED I TELL YOU....

(Garmin for the logging, Strava/Training Peaks/GoldenCheetah for the analysis here...)
  • david2joh
    david2joh Posts: 13 Member
    Options
    This might be a bit circuitous but could you put MapMyRide workouts into the calendar then sync to Google calendar?
    (Use a disposable username).
    From there you can export the rides to google drive and from there go to Google's MyTracks (free app) or Strava.
    Otherwise I believe you are stuck with signing up for a premium MapMyRide account
    to export. Hopefully someone else can elucidate a free solution.

I use my phone as well for a GPS ride tracker and MyTracks plays nice with Strava. I believe the Strava