Aria Scale Strategy with MFP

Options
Stacivogue
Stacivogue Posts: 325 Member
I have a love/hate relationship with my aria scale. It's great when i am just starting out - or if I'm afraid of what the scale might say. I just put a post-it note over the window and weigh myself and then i don't check it for a week. After a week's time, i look at the chart and see...oh, that wasn't so bad. I'm still making progress.

However, now that I've been pretty serious about making a positive change in my diet and exercising, it can be disheartening to see the scale go up. Even if I KNOW it's probably just water weight, or maybe I built some extra muscle...
But what would drive me CRAZY was when I would gain that pound, and MFP politely did not mention it, and then two days later MFP would grandly announce that i'd lost 1 lbs since my last weigh in! Then I'd get all of these likes.

So, I put a second user on the aria scale. When I go up, I just let it link to the second account (unless I really overdid it and went to a wedding or something - because i do have to accountable for gains of that sort).

That way MFP just states when I really lose weight - and I can celebrate without being all annoyed that it keeps announcing that I've lost the same darn pound every day for a week.

Then, after several weeks go by, I go ahead into the fitbit site and "check" all of the weighings - adding them to my history.

So - then i can look back and say- "See, i went up and down and up and down but in the grand scheme of things, that little gain did not stop my overall progress."

And all of a sudden, the scale does not:
1) dictate my mood for the rest of the day
2) give me an excuse to eat poorly because "why bother"

And it does:
1) help me

Replies

• jbinfullerton
    jbinfullerton Posts: 1 Member
    Options