Recovery: Sleep + Nutrition

Options
noel2fit
noel2fit Posts: 235 Member
I want to know what works for you! How much do you sleep? How much do you eat? What do you recommend new people do or what does your box recommend? I'm scouring the internet for resources, but I'd like to hear from real cross fitters too please.

I'm new to cross fit and I have to say, I'm EXHAUSTED and RAVENOUS every day! My usual 7 hours of sleep feels like sleep deprivation this week. Also I usually try to eat clean but allow something junky every day as a treat, but it's getting to a point where I'm wanting to binge junk and never feel like I'm getting enough food. Should I eat outrageous amounts of eggs for breakfast instead of 2? Have double or triple chicken breasts for dinner to keep out of the ice-cream? Do you guys count calories or worry more about macros and eating clean?

Replies

• Mummyadams
    Mummyadams Posts: 1,125 Member
    Options
    I do the 5.45am class so I'm usually in bed by 9.30. I neeeed my sleep. I don't count macros but I do try to adhere to the 80/20 rule. If your hungry, then eat. Add a protein shake, eat nuts, banana - healthful & sustaining food. Before Crossfit I did the whole 1200 cals and running my *kitten* off - I could never sustain that diet now doing Crossfit, I wouldn't be able to lift the weights if I did.
    If your tired, get more sleep or have an extra rest day between work out days.
  • alysa521
    alysa521 Posts: 137 Member
    edited July 2015
    Options
    I count macros and weigh/measure my food, I eat about 2000 cals a day. For me it’s worth it, science doesn’t lie, I feel better, perform better and have a healthier relationship with food because I eat mostly clean but fit treats in frequently as long as they fit within my macros. I have been working with a nutrition coach and slowly lost 10 lbs and am now slowly increasing calories again. All of my lifts went up despite weighing less, but gymnastics skills are so much easier!