Squatting with a Smith machine?

Options
Angel_Grove_
Angel_Grove_ Posts: 205 Member
I just started Stronglifts with actual weights at the actual gym (had been using my home cable gym half-assedly for a few months. Finally got a gym membership) I know the goal is to do everything with free weights, but I'm new to the weight room and ended up using a Smith machine yesterday (had to look it up online to figure out what it actually was called - I just thougth it was a nifty squat rack when I was there, lol)- was more comfortable with how it was set up in case I couldnt' hack it.

I'm wondering though, should I have counted the bar when I recorded the weight? I had 45s on each side and just put it down as 90 - it seemed like the bar itself didn't really weigh much. Just trying to figure out how much weight I should use if/when I switch to a regular bar. How much would I impede my progress if I keep using the Smith for a while?

Also, is there not any way to search for posts within a group? I'm sure this has probably been asked before, so sorry about duplicating anything - I tried searching, but couldn't figure it out.

Replies

• krokador
    krokador Posts: 1,794 Member
    Options
    The probelm with the smith machine is that it does a few things for you that are definitely not optimal.
    1. It stabilizes the bar for you, taking most of the core out of the equation. Which means when you do transfer over to real barbell squats, you'll have to significantly drop the load back down to build back into it, and by that point, you might have learned a wrong way to setup which means you'll be starting back from square one anyway.