New here :)

Options
Hi guys, I'm 16 years old, 5'2". I'm a serious ballet student training at a full-time school, obviously very active, but I've gained over 10 lbs over the past year! I'm a recovered anorexic so I'm not allowed to weigh myself at
home (probably how the pounds snuck up on me, coupled with stress and boredom eating). I weigh 106.5 now, and the numbers just keep creeping upward. I'd like to get down to about 100, or lose at least 5 lbs, not
much more.

Although I am not overweight according to medical standards, I AM according to professional ballet standards. In fact, one of the most prominent Russian ballet academies would require me to weigh about 85 pounds or less. The rule of thumb in America is 85 lbs for 5' and 5 lbs extra for each inch beyond that; I know it's not always healthy and I'll use my discretion, but unfortunately I can't change how the dance world works. At my school the directors aren't shy about letting you know if you're looking too heavy, and I want to make sure that doesn't happen,

I know I don't have a ton of weight to lose, but it will be a real challenge to get it
off and then maintain control over my diet in the long run :\

So, anyway, please add me on here so we can motivate one another!

Replies

• MrsG31
    MrsG31 Posts: 364 Member
    Options