A bit wobbly when doing OHP

Options
Hi I'm a bit new to all this but have started SL 5x5 and I've just complete workout no.10. I have just gotten to a weight on the OHP where I am starting to find it reasonably heavy and all of a sudden my balance has gone. When pressing upwards i find myself taking a step back/forward and just feel unsteady in general. Has anyone else experienced this? When pressing I do tightening my core and try to ground my feet but it still happens.

Replies

• DaniH826
    DaniH826 Posts: 1,335 Member
    Options
    Deload until you can do the entire movement with good form from start to finish. If you're losing your balance, it may mean your body is somehow trying to make up for an amount of weight it's not ready for, regardless of how heavy it "feels".

I usually lean my upper body back just a little when starting the OHP by looking towards the ceiling and then drive the bar straight up, using my hips to adjust backwards under the bar and gradually lowering my gaze also, in one fluid movement, while driving my arms, and the bar, on up to the ceiling. The bar ends up just sort of grazing my nose. Aim for a perfectly vertical up-and-down bar movement and adjust your body around it, as you would with the squat also. You may be trying to subconsciously getting away from the bar being that close to your face, and that's when you lose your balance. All it takes is a split second, so start at a lower weight, be mindful of what is happening the entire time, and allow yourself to develop muscle memory and having that bar travel so close to your face without flinching or whatever. Maybe practice with a broomstick until you have it down.