Is my fitbit adjustment (mostly) accurate?

ryanidk
ryanidk Posts: 6 Member
edited August 2018 in Social Groups
Hey guys, I just recently got my Charge 2, I've read the FAQ a bunch and have tried to get everything as accurate and set as possible. I understand there's some variance with these devices, but I want to know if I maybe have something set wrong.

Some numbers:
I'm 254lbs, 6'0", 24 years old.
Went for a 30min bike ride today(which fitbit estimated about 400 cal burn), went to the gym (left the fitbit on, I understand this can cause some inflation with lifting. I logged the weights on MFP but don't see any adjustment from that), then went to work.

I work in a restaurant where I'm on my feet for about 7 hours straight, walking around. I logged about 20k steps. I set my stride length to 30.4/walk and 43.9/run as per the method for calculating found in the FAQ

Fitbit is giving me an adjustment of 2400 extra calories, for a total of nearly 4400 calories. And that's set for losing 2lbs a week.

I'm a big dude with an active job but I'm possibly worried I might have something set wrong to get THAT large of an adjustment. I don't think I could even eat 4400 calories in a single day.

Replies

• carolemack
    carolemack Posts: 1,276 Member
    What is your Activity Level set at? If you have it set at 'sedentary' it could cause this large a discrepancy when you are as active as you are.
  • ryanidk
    It's set to "Lightly Active" which is probably one tier under what I should set it as, but that's not really the issue here. Even if I had it set higher, it'd still be telling me I could eat 4400 calories today and still be on track for losing 2lbs a week.
  • heybales
    heybales Posts: 18,842 Member
    BTW - you didn't get a total of nearly 4400 calories ... because you are set for 2 lbs weekly.

You got the 4400 calories because MFP added 2400 to 2000 to end up at 4400